About Us

The Montana Petroleum Association, Inc. is an expanding non-profit, voluntary trade association, made up of more than 150 diverse members; including upstream, midstream, and downstream companies.

MPA works with local and statewide officials to advocate for an environment in which the oil and gas industry can benefit the state’s economy. It is our goal to defend the necessary work of this job creating industry against rules and regulations which inhibit our ability to be successful.

MPA strives to positively shape public opinion through education and outreach, and believes in being a generous community partner and good neighbor.


Alan Olson, Executive Director
Bobbie Gardner, Office Manager

Board Officers

Shane LaCasse
CHS Inc.
Laurel, MT

Vice-President – Downstream
Dave Linn
WBI Energy, Inc.
Glendive, MT

Vice-President – Upstream
Tanner Egan
Hancock Enterprises
Billings, MT

Secretary & Treasurer
Mac McDermott
Shelby, MT

Board Members

Bill Ballard (Lifetime)
Ballard Petroleum Holdings, LLC
Billings, MT

Dave Ballard
Ballard Petroleum Holdings, LLC
Billings, MT

Kent Beers
Empire Resources LLC
Billings, MT

Colby Branch
Crowley Fleck PLLP
Billings, MT

Greg Brown
CHS Inc.
Laurel, MT

Brian Cebull
Nance Resources, Inc./GTUIT
Billings, MT

Josh DeMorrett
Dickinson, ND

Matthew Deveau
XTO Energy
Williston, ND

Steve Durrett
Augustus Energy Partners, LLC
Billings, MT

Shane Henry
Enerplus Resources (USA) Corp.
Denver, CO

Jeff Herman
Petro-Hunt LLC
Bismarck, ND

David Hoffman
NorthWestern Energy
Helena, MT

Terry Holzwarth
Billings, MT

Chris Jessup
Billings, MT

Roger Kelley
Continental Resources, Inc.
Oklahoma City, OK

Pat Kimmet
CHS, Inc.
Laurel, MT

Jack King
Hancock Enterprises
Billings, MT

Michael Kukuk
Oasis Petroleum North America LLC
Houston, TX

Bruce Larsen
Kraken Oil & Gas
Houston, TX

Wayne Leiker
Calumet Montana Refining
Great Falls, MT

Eric Linthicum
White Rock Oil & Gas, LLC
Plano, TX

HJ Reed
Phillips 66
Oklahoma City, OK

Greg Schnacke
Denbury Resources Inc.
Plano, TX

Tad True
True Oil LLC
Denver, CO

Danette Welsh
Bismarck, ND